Hale conquers competition at Lonesome Pine Raceway 


By Chase Brashears
June 11, 2016

COEBURN, Va. – Defending NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car champion Wayne Hale dominated Saturday night at Lonesome Pine Raceway, winning both 35-lap feature.

In both features, Hale worked his way around Kres VanDyke to take the win following hard-fought battles between the two.

VanDyke qualified on the pole position for the first Late Model Stock feature and quickly took the lead when the green flag was displayed. The races first caution would wave as the field had completed only the first lap for debris on the back straightaway.

Back under green flag conditions, VanDyke would regain the lead over Hale. 12 laps later, Hale would pull to the inside of VanDyke as the two began to battle for first place. Hale would complete the pass on lap 13.

On lap 14, the second caution of the race would be displayed due to emergency crews having to respond to an issue outside of the racetrack.

Back under green, the field would only make it into the first turn before an accident between Jamie Harrison, Steve Deskins and Danny Casteel would send cars sliding up the racetrack and one car spinning around.

The second attempt to get lap 14 back underway would go much smoother, with Hale retaking the lead at the exit of turn two. For the remaining half of the race, Hale would set the pace and take his first win of the season.

After winning the first feature and rolling a one on the invert dice, Hale would start the second 35-lap event from the pole.

Hale and VanDyke would battle for the lead on the start, with VanDyke rocketing to the lead on the first circuit. Hale would begin to battle back and even make contact with VanDyke, sending VanDyke sliding down the track and allowing Hale to take the lead on lap four.

The remainder of the race would go caution free as Hale picked up his second win of the night over Greg Bohannon and VanDyke. 

“It feels really good to be back at Lonesome Pine and pick up two wins in a row tonight,” said Hale after his second victory of the night. “The car was pretty good tonight, but we need to do a little more tweaking. It was pretty much on a rail.”

Hale, who also competed on Friday night at Kingsport (Tennessee) Speedway, commented on pulling double duty over the weekend.

“We’ve had a great weekend between Kingsport and LPR” exclaimed the 2015 Late Model Stock Car champion. “We finished second last night and picked up two wins tonight.”

“My thanks to Miller’s Automotive, A-1 Transmission, EA Miller Trucking, and a special thanks to my crew and the fans for their support.”

Elby Harrison and Rob Austin made up the front row for the 30-lap Modified Street race. At the drop of the green flag, Austin would pull to the lead over Harrison.

A spin in turn one on lap three would slow the field for the first time. On the restart, Harrison would pull into the lead over Austin.

The race’s second and final caution would wave on lap 23 when Emma Stiltner became loose and spun at the exit of turn four.

Set for the restart, Harrison would again take over the top spot and lead the remaining lap on his way to Victory Lane.

John Ketron was on point for 25 laps of Pure 4 racing, with Jackie Jackson on the outside pole. On the second circuit, Ketron would clear Jackson to officially take over the first position.

Ketron would lead flag-to-flag for his second win of the season.

Rocky Yates held off David Brown to claim the night’s Mod 4 division victory. The win was Yates’ second of the weekend, having won at Kingsport Speedway the night before.

Doug Austin took the lead at the drop of the green flag in the Pure Street division race. Austin would lead all five laps to take his first win of the season.

Blaine Harrison picked up his first win of the season in the 10-lap Bandelero feature.

June 11, 2016 Results

Late Model Stock Car Race No. 1 (35 laps):
1. #19 Wayne Hale
2. #15 Kres VanDyke
3. #55 Phil Harris
4. #1 Dalton Hopkins
5. #76 Jamie Harrison
6. #29 Mark Meade
7. #41 Danny Casteel
8. #14 Steve Deskins
9. #17 Greg Bohannon Jr.

Late Model Stock Car Race No. 2 (35 laps):
1. #19 Wayne Hale
2. #17 Greg Bohannon Jr.
3. #15 Kres VanDyke
4. #55 Phil Harris
5. #1 Dalton Hopkins
6. #14 Steve Deskins
7. #76 Jamie Harrison
8. #29 Mark Meade
9. #41 Danny Casteel

Modified Street (30 laps):
1. #7 Elby Harrison
2. #25 Rob Austin
3. #5 Joe Evans
4. #22 Emma Stiltner
DNS. #15 Matthew Eades

Pure 4 (25 laps):
1. #27 John Ketron
2. #17 Jackie Jackson
3. #28 Jason Ketron
4. #94 Chris Neeley
5. #47 William Hale
6. #99 Bucky Smith
7. #4 Kevin Darnell
8. #15 Larry Stapleton
9. #33 Bruce Crumbley
DNS. #33 John McClanahan

Mod 4 (25 laps):
1. #3 Rocky Yates
2. #13 David Brown
3. #16 Freddie Taylor Jr.
4. #8 Jason Yates
5. #2 Kevin Canter
6. #9 Hershell Robinette
7. #22 Brian Hunt
8. #20 Chris Coleman

Pure Street (20 laps):
1. #18 Doug Austin
2. #99 Marty Tunnell
3. #11 Jamie Meadows
4. #22 Emma Stiltner

Bandeleros (10 laps):
1. #7 Blaine Harrison
2. #17 Shelby Bohannon